Home » Uncategorized » Newbery and Caldecott winners have been announced!

Newbery and Caldecott winners have been announced!

Congratulations to the following winners of the Newbery and Caldecott award!

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature: “Merci Suárez Changes Gears,” written by Meg Medina, is the 2019 Newbery Medal winner. Two Newbery Honor Books also were named: “The Night Diary,” written by Veera Hiranandani and “The Book of Boy,” written by Catherine Gilbert Murdock, illustrated by Ian Schoenherr.

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children: “Hello Lighthouse,” illustrated and written by Sophie Blackall is the 2019 Caldecott Medal winner. Four Caldecott Honor Books also were named: “Alma and How She Got Her Name,” illustrated and written by Juana Martinez-Neal, “A Big Mooncake for Little Star,” illustrated and written by Grace Lin, “The Rough Patch,” illustrated and written by Brian Lies, and “Thank You, Omu!” illustrated and written by Oge Mora.

For a complete list of all of the award winners, follow the link to the official press release. Happy Reading!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *